Dani Slabaugh Rreceives Graduate School Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Award

July 6, 2022

Dani Slabaugh, current student in the Geography, Planning, and Design PhD program, is the recipient of the Graduate School 2022 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Award .This award goes to a current graduate student or student organization who has made significant contributions to improving the climate of diversity, equity and inclusion...

Alum Vance Harris Publishes First Research

Jan. 20, 2022

Vance Harris, Geography and Environmental Sciences 2020 alum, had his first research publication in the journal Frontiers in Forests and Global Change , “ Small-Area Estimation for the USDA Forest Service, National Woodland Owner Survey: Creating a Fine-Scale Land Cover and Ownership Layer to Support County-Level Population Estimates concerning utilizing...

GES Announces William M. Rodgers Undergraduate Geography Major Scholarship Winners

Nov. 25, 2021

Geography and Environmental Sciences is very proud to announce the winners of the 2021 William M. Rodgers Undergraduate Geography Major Scholarships. $1,000 Scholarship Award Winners Ismaiel Elsayed Elizabeth Kuhn Valley Lopez $500 Scholarship Award Winners Jenna Griboski Allyson Olson Rayah Woodcock

Current GES Student and Alum Team Up on Internship with City of Denver to Bring Community Input to the Redistricting Process

Nov. 25, 2021

Every 10 years, with the release of the US Census data, the Denver City Council redraws its city council boundaries to ensure that every person has a voice in electing their local representative. For the 2022 redistricting initiative the City Council wants to incorporate as much community input as possible,...

Jordan Truitt Presented His Undergraduate Honors Thesis Work at Two National Conferences

May 19, 2021

Jordan Truitt (BA Geography, December of 2020) recently presented his undergraduate honors thesis findings at both the annual meeting of the Association of American Geographers (AAG) and at the International Association of Landscape Ecology North American meeting. Truitt performed a critical review of the stakeholder engagement and Monitoring & Evaluation...

Auraria Library's Diane Fritz a Valuable Resource for Geospatial Data, Analysis, and Community Building

April 1, 2021

Diane Fritz was recently promoted to the position of Geospatial Data Scientist, a position dedicated to helping the Auraria Library research community. Fritz received her B.S. in biochemistry from University of California, San Diego and her Ph.D. in earth sciences from the University of Colorado Boulder before entering the geospatial...

Peter Anthamatten Publishes on How to Make Maps

Jan. 21, 2021

Peter Anthamatten, Associate Professor and Chair of Geography and Environmental Sciences, recently published his latest book, How to Make Maps: An Introduction to Theory and Practice of Cartography . The goal of How to Make Maps is to equip readers with the foundational knowledge of concepts they need to conceive,...

Geography and Environmental Sciences' Fall 2020 Scholarship Winners

Dec. 2, 2020

Geography and Environmental Sciences is very proud to announce that Jordan Truitt and Melissa Allen were selected to receive the William M. Rodgers Undergraduate Geography Major Scholarship for Fall 2020.

Chris Miller, Timberley Roane, and Bryan Wee Win Presidential Initiative on Urban Research Awards

Oct. 28, 2020

The Presidential Initiative on Urban Research, sponsored by the CU system to bolster each campus’s unique area of expertise, is intended to support CU Denver’s urban and place-based research and creative work. The winners were selected by the seven deans, with assistance in proposal review from eight faculty. The College...

GES Faculty Publish Jointly on Pandemics

Sept. 17, 2020

A timely publication from six Geography and Environmental Sciences faculty titled “Pandemics and the future of human-landscape interactions,” appeared August 27 th in the journal Anthropocene . While early reflections on COVID-19 from the academic community have tended to target the microbiology, medicine, and animal science communities, this article articulates...