Faculty

Dr. Michael Berry Photo

Michael Berry

Director of Graduate Studies • Associate Professor
Political Science
Expertise Areas: American political institutions, congressional policymaking and oversight, the presidency, bureaucratic administration, congressional and presidential elections, research methodology
Michael.Berry@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1749

Harvey Bishop

Instructor
Political Science
harvey.bishop@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1751
Sasha Breger Bush Pic

Sasha Breger Bush

Assistant Professor
Political Science
Expertise Areas: International political economy, development studies, global finance, and food and farming systems.
sasha.breger@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1771
Karen Breslin Picture

Karen Breslin

Instructor • Undergraduate Advisor
Political Science
Expertise Areas: Environmental policy and politics, animal and earth rights, U.S. judiciary, U.S. Constitution, U.S. legal system, media and politics.
Karen.Breslin@ucdenver.edu     303-352-6860
Michael Cummings Picture

Michael Cummings

Professor Emeritus
Political Science
Expertise Areas: Early political thought, modern political thought, American political thought, political psychology, practical utopias, youth empowerment, children's voices in politics
Michael.Cummings@ucdenver.edu     Please email
Jana Everett Picture

Jana Everett

Professor Emeritus
Political Science
Expertise Area: My research examines various aspects of gender and politics in India including micro-credit, informal economy, women's movements, Panchayati Raj (local elected bodies in the rural areas), and violence.
Jana.Everett@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1758
Bassem Hassan Picture - Photo Credit: CBS

Bassem Hassan

Associate Professor - CTT
Political Science
Expertise Areas: International Relations, Middle East Politics, International Security
bassem.hassan@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1759
MInsun Ji Photo

Minsun Ji

Director of the Center for New Directions in Politics and Public Policy
Political Science
Minsun is the Director of the Center for New Directions in Politics and Public Policy program , in the Political Science Department at the University of Colorado Denver. She was the founder and long-time executive director of a worker center in Denver, Colorado, El Centro Humanitario para los Trabajadores (Humanitarian Center for Workers), organizing immigrant day laborers and domestic workers. She was also a labor union organizer with Service Employees...
Minsun.Ji@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1755
Betcy Jose Picture

Betcy Jose

Assistant Professor
Political Science
Expertise Areas: armed conflict, global norms, international humanitarian law
Betcy.Jose@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1760
Amaleia Kolovos Headshot

Amaleia Kolovos

Lecturer
Political Science
Amaleia.Kolovos@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1748

Lucy McGuffey

Professor Emeritus
Political Science
Expertise Areas: international politics; international justice; political theory; international law; peace-building and transitional justice; refugee and forced migration studies; democracy and social movements; and religion and politics
Lucy.Mcguffey@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1761
Glenn Morris Picture

Glenn Morris

Associate Professor • President's Teaching Scholar
Political Science
​Expertise Areas: Indigenous Peoples; Race & Gender in Law and Policy; Civil Liberties and Constitutional Law; Indigenous Peoples, United Nations, and International Law; Human Rights; Ethnic Conflict
Glenn.Morris@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1762

Charles Norton

Lecturer
Political Science
cnorton@nortonsmithlaw.com     Please email
Tony Robinson lectures in Korea during a recent study abroad trip.

Tony Robinson

Chair - University of Colorado Denver Political Science Department • Associate Professor
Political Science
Expertise Areas: American political institutions Poverty and politics Urban politics American political thought CU in the Capitol Grassroots empowerment and social movements.
tony.robinson@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1763
Chad Shomura Picture

Chad Shomura

Assistant Professor
Political Science
Expertise Areas: Affect; Ordinary Life; Biopolitics; New Materialisms and Vitalisms; The Human; Ecology; Intimacy; Queer Theory and Queer of Color Critique; Asian American Studies; Settler Colonialism; Hawaiʻi
Chad.Shomura@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1757
Thorsten Spehn Picture

Thorsten Spehn

Assistant Professor C/T
Political Science
​Expertise Areas: International and Comparative Politics, Security Studies, State Socialization and Compliance, Foreign Policy Analysis
Thorsten.Spehn@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1764
Christoph Stefes Headshot

Christoph Stefes

Professor
Political Science
​Expertise Areas: Dr. Stefes' areas of specialty are political development (authoritarianism and democratization) with a regional focus on the former Soviet Union, esp. the South Caucasus and Central Asia. He has done research on corruption and informal institutions. He also teaches courses on European governments and European integration/EU studies. Finally, Dr. Stefes works on the political of renewable energy in Germany and the United States.
Christoph.Stefes@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1765
Steve Thomas Photo

Stephen Thomas

Associate Professor
Political Science
​Expertise Areas: Chinese politics, Chinese economic development, Chinese financial reforms since 1978, Chinese economic development in historical perspective, East Asia Foreign Relations, The role of sovereignty in economic development, The East Asian Miracle Countries
Stephen.Thomas@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1767
James Walsh Picture

James Walsh

Assistant Professor C/T
Political Science
​Expertise Areas: Labor and Immigration History/Politics; Social Movements in the U.S.; Irish American History; Community Theater; Community Organizing.
James.Walsh@ucdenver.edu     303 315-1768
Martin Widzer

Martin Widzer

Lecturer
Political Science
​Expertise Areas: International Security, US Foreign Policy, National Security, International Arms Control
Martin.Widzer@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1748

Staff

MInsun Ji Photo

Minsun Ji

Director of the Center for New Directions in Politics and Public Policy
Political Science
Minsun is the Director of the Center for New Directions in Politics and Public Policy program , in the Political Science Department at the University of Colorado Denver. She was the founder and long-time executive director of a worker center in Denver, Colorado, El Centro Humanitario para los Trabajadores (Humanitarian Center for Workers), organizing immigrant day laborers and domestic workers. She was also a labor union organizer with Service Employees...
Minsun.Ji@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1755
Elly Steinmetz Lewis

Elly Steinmetz Lewis

Digital & Print Communications Specialist
Political Science
Expertise Areas: Social Media, Content Creation & Curation, Adobe Creative Suite, Communications and Public Relations
eleanore.lewis@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1766

Kelly Stritzinger

Program Assistant I
Political Science
Kelly.Stritzinger@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1770
Coby Wikselaar Photo

Coby Wikselaar

Harding Fellow
Political Science
coby.wikselaar@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1754

Teaching Assistant

Charles Buchanan Photo

Charles Buchanan

Teaching Assistant
Political Science
Spring 2018 Office Hours: Tues. 8:45-10:45am
charles.buchanan@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1753

Sky Roosevelt-Morris

Teaching Assistant
Political Science
Sky.Morris@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1753

John Stone

Teaching Assistant
Political Science
Spring 2018 Office Hours: Mon./Weds. 10:45-11:45am
John.Stone@ucdenver.edu     303-315-1753