Network. Learn. Contribute.   photo of 2017 COMM Days student winners

The Department of Communication, in partnership with the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, is pleased to present this year’s Communication Days celebration. During the week of April 9-13, Denver’s leading communicators visit our classrooms, bringing a real-world dimension to every course. Students are encouraged to attend numerous presentations to network with potential employers, learn communication skills, and contribute to developing the Department’s community.    

2018 Keynote Presentation and Awards Ceremony

Featured Panelists:

Amanda Butler, BA '15, former Puksta Fellow, and former winner of the Department’s Lael Porter Community Service Award, is the Program Manager for the Colorado Juvenile Defender Center, where she directs a program called Juvenile Justice: The Rural and Tribal Southwest.

Shontel Lewis, BA '12, and former winner of the Department’s Barbara J. Walkosz Alumni Award, formerly worked with the Regional Transportation Department of Denver, and now serves in Denver Public Schools, where she is the Director of Public Strategy and Advocacy.

Austin Pride, MA '17, is working with NBC Universal as a Master Control Operator, using his communication skills in the broadcast television production industry.

Tuesday, April 10th, 12:30 to 1:45PM
Lawrence Street Center Terrace Room
1380 Lawrence Street, Denver​

2017 Award Winners 

Friend of the Department Award
Mary Lovit, Course and Curriculum Coordinator, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Sonja K. Foss Award for Academic Excellence
Haley Pasquariello​

Lael Porter Award for Community Service
Patrycja Humienik
Sarah Sunderlin
Matthew Wilkin

Robley Rhine Student Leadership Award
Valeria Moran​

Barbara J. Walkosz Alumni Award
Perla Gheiler​

Past Communication Days keynote speakers include: 

  • 2017: Rinku Sen, President and Executive Director of Race Forward
  • 2016: Helene Shugart, Professor, University of Utah
  • 2015: Phaedra C. Pezzullo, Associate Professor of Rhetoric & Public Culture, Department of Communication & Culture, Indiana University
  • 2014: Charles E. Morris III, Professor, Department of Communication and Rhetorical Communication, Syracuse University
  • 2013: Aimee Carrillo-Rowe, Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, California State University - Northridge
  • 2012: Kirt Wilson, Associate Professor of Rhetoric and Political Communication, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2011: Robbie Cox, three-time Sierra Club president, Professor Emeritus, University of North Carolina
  • 2010: Judith Tannenbaum, nationally recognized novelist and poet, community activist, and prison educator
  • 2009: Garrett Albert Duncan, Chair, Department of Education, Washington University
  • 2008: Tim Z. Hernandez, writer and performance artist
  • 2007: Bill Hanzlik, CEO, Gold Crown Foundation; former coach, Denver Nuggets; former NBA basketball player
  • 2006: Jeff Campbell, Executive Director, Colorado Hip-Hop Coalition
  • 2005: John Hickenlooper, Mayor, City of Denver
  • 2004: Patricia Calhoun, Editor, Westword
  • 2003: Denver Mayoral Forum (included all of the candidates running for mayor: Susan Casey, John Hickenlooper, Don Mares, Phil Perington, Elizabeth Schlosser, Jeremy Stefanek, Penfield Tate, and Ari Zavaras)
  • 2002: Guy Burgess, Director, The Conflict Research Consortium, University of Colorado at Boulder
  • 2001: Patricia Arneson, Professor, Communication Department, Duquesne University