Published: April 22, 2019

Student Shelby Carr speaking to the crowd at the department award ceremonyEach year, the CU Denver History Department commemorates its harworking students. This year's ceremony was graciously hosted by Tyrba Architects, whose founder also sponsors the Tryba Prize. Faculty, students, alumni, and friends gathered to celebrate these accomplishments and awards. The awards and recipients are as follows: 

The Ward Prize
Tom & Judy Ward established the Ward Family Prize in Public History for the CU Denver student doing the most to promote history among the public through educational activities, historic preservation, publications, tours and other efforts to establish a sense of place and appreciation of the past as a guide to the future. This year, the recipient was CU Denver History Department Alumni, Shawn Snow. 

The Whiteside Prize
Given in the name of beloved faculty emeritus James B. Whiteside, this $100 prize is given to the graduate student who writes the best essay in the course HIST 6013 Introduction to the Professional Study of History. Noah Allyn, MA student, received this award for his historiographical essay on Chinese experiences in Denver. 

The Tryba Prize
The David Owen Tryba Prize is an annual award for outstanding student achievement in Historic Preservation for a CU Denver student. In addition to being our hosts for this year's award ceremony, the Tryba Family also presented Thomas James Trump, MA student, with this year's distinction in Historic Preservation. Thomas James (TJ) earned his certificate in Historic Preservation last year and has spent the last two years working for non-profit Historic Preservation firms through several internships and hours of volunteer work. 

The Viola Vestal Coulter Scholarships
The Viola Vestal Coulter Foundation has provided funding for students studying Colorado History since 1958. This scholarship is awarded to several students who focus on Colorado and local history each year. This year, Mark Curry, Jeremiah Moore, Josef Mauer, Stevi Moreland, and Mary O'Neil were presented with the awards by Dr. Tom "Colorado" Noel.