2023 Denver Metro Regional Science and Engineering Fair

Award Winners

Senior - Category Awards

Animal & Plant Sciences

1st Place: Harrison Ruleman
 2nd Place: Campbell Carlson
 3rd Place: Brandon Stup

Biological Sciences

1st Place: Alastair Buddin 2nd Place: Karl Schuenemann 3rd Place: Kaelyn de Villiers

Chemistry, Energy, & Physics

1st Place: Victoria Balleau 2nd Place: Cole Gropp & Ella Seevers 3rd Place: Wilson Moyer

Honorable Mention: Max Diffendorfer

Earth & Environmental Sciences

1st Place: Landon Hartman 2nd Place: Mitchel Major

Engineering & Materials Science

1st Place: Rhys Hanson 2nd Place: Kimball Boyle 3rd Place: Ersel Serdar

Medicine & Health Science

1st Place: Aditi Avinash 2nd Place: Vignesh Velmurugan

Social & Behavioral Science

1st Place: Evelyn Seevers 2nd Place: Cadence Casey 3rd Place: Madhav Kowdle

Junior - Category Awards

Animal Sciences

1st Place: Grace Marmorstein2nd Place: Avalyn Martinez

Biological Sciences

1st Place: Lilly Hirsch 2nd Place: Ayra Memon

Chemistry

1st Place: Jocelyn Kramer 2nd Place: Reem Bouayad

Earth & Environmental Sciences

1st Place: Varun Velmurugan 2nd Place: Addie Brin 3rd Place: Abdul Azeez Abdillahi

Engineering

1st Place: Vikram Raju 2nd Place: Lucy Dunkly 3rd Place: Aanshi Shah

Materials Science

1st Place: Toshiro Nagafuji 2nd Place: Aedan Brandreth

3rd Place: Benjamin Bagelman & Dominic Osterholt

Medicine & Health Sciences

1st Place: Emma Beeby 2nd Place: Kapil Bhandaram

Physics and Astronomy

1st Place: Zoey Wheeland

Plant Sciences

1st Place: Levi Goncharov
 2nd Place: Mathangi Kurup
 3rd Place: Tessa Pineiro

Social & Behavioral Sciences

1st Place: Juliet Huckabay 2nd Place: Quincy Flagg & Soraya Hassan 3rd Place: Sunand Bhandaram

Senior - Best in Fair

1st Place: Aditi Avinash

2nd Place: Vignesh Velmurugan

3rd Place: Evelyn Seevers

1st Alternate: Rhys Hanson

2nd Alternate: Kimball Boyle

Junior - Best in Fair

1st Place: Grace Marmorstein 2nd Place: Emma Beeby 3rd Place: Jocelyn Kramer Honorable Mention: Varun Velmurugan

Special Awards

American Psychological Association Award Keira DiPrimo

American Statistical Association Best Use of Statistics Award Hansini Mudumala and Aryana Havash

Association of Women Geoscientists Award of Geoscience Excellence

Hansini Mudumala and Aryana Havash

Cherry Creek Water Quality Award
Mathangi Kurup

Colorado Chapter Soil Water Conservatory Award

Varun Velmurugan Hannah McClintock Sophia Abdella Mitchel Major

Colorado Section of the American Chemical Society Award

Victoria Balleau Reem Bouayad Jocelyn Kramer

CoorsTek Award

Jocelyn Kramer Rhys Hanson

CU Denver Department of Chemistry Outstanding Chemistry Research

Jocelyn Kramer

CU Science Discovery Award

Grace Marmonstein

Denver Mensa Special Recognition Award

Toshiro Nagafuji Landon Hartman

Denver Museum of Nature and Science Communication Award

Lucy Dunkly Aditi Avinash

Denver Zoo Wildlife Warrior

1st place:

Landon Hartman

Honorable Mention:

Raul Rascon Brandon Stup Harrison Ruleman

DMRSEF Spirit of Science Award

Tatum Doyle Valen Walters Tess Price

Ferrara Family Award for Scientific Advancement of Social and Environmental Justice

Vikram Raju Miles Young

Keep It Clean Denver Outstanding Water Quality Project

Elsa Vossler

Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP Award

1st Place: Wilson Moyer 2nd Place: Aditi Avinash 3rd Place: Mikael Miao

Lemelson Early Inventor Award

Aanshi Shah

MSU Denver Summer Science Institute Award

Emma Beeby

NASA Earth System Science Award

Wilson Moyer

National Geographic Cultivating Empathy for the Earth Award

Landon Hartman

National Security Agency Award

1st Place: Wilson Moyer 2nd Place: Jordan Chang 3rd Place: Rhys Hanson

NOAA Taking the Pulse of the Planet Award

Ayra Memon

Nugent Family Statistical Award

Kavya Krishna

Office of Naval Research Award

Mathangi Kurup Ayra Memon Anesh Ilango Wilson Moyer Aditi Avinash

Regeneron Biomedical Science Award

Aditi Avinash

Ricoh Sustainable Development Award

Ella Seevers and Cole Gropp

Rocky Mountain Section of the American Water Works Association Award

Varun Velmurugan

Rocky Mountain Water Environment Federation Award

Bennett O'Brien

Roy Albert Hanson Innovative Problem Solving Award

Ella Seevers and Cole Gropp

Scythe Robotics Award

Aanshi Shah

Society for Petroleum Engineers Denver Section Prize for Creativity in Earth Sciences

Varun Velmurugan Alastair Buddin

Stockholm Junior Water Prize

Alastair Buddin Campbell Carlson Hannah McClintock

Student Choice Awards

Anesh Ilango Rocio Flores

SWE Rocky Mountain Section Outstanding Young Woman in STEM

Elsa Vossler Cadence Casey Jolie Kennedy

The Society For In Vitro Biology Achievement Award

Vignesh Velmurugan

United States Metric Association Award

Ishan Kalluri

University of Colorado Denver Department of Physics Award

Christian Lloyd

University of Colorado Denver Integrative Biology Award

Ayra Memon Alastair Buddin

Ursa Major Bearospace Award

Rhys Hanson

US Air Force Award

Kapil Bhandaram Jocelyn Kramer Ersel Serdar Rhys Hanson

USAID Science Champion Award

Reda Essebar

William L Weston MD Memorial Award

Ishan Kalluri

Yale Science and Engineering Award

Aditi Avinash