Dr. Stephen John Hartnett received the 2014 CLAS Award for Service Excellence and the 2014 CU Denver Award for Service Excellence. At the November 2013 NCA Convention, he received the Kohrs-Campbell Prize for Rhetorical Criticism for Executing Democracy, Volume 2: Capital Punishment & the Making of America, 1843-1855. Hartnett was also elected 2nd vice president of the NCA.​

Dr. Lisa Keränen was selected as a CU President's Teaching Scholar; a lifetime appointment. 


Dr. Brenda J. Allen received the Elizabeth Gee award from the University of Colorado system.

Dr. Patrick Dodge won the 2013 Excellent ICB Teacher award.

Dr. Sonja K. Foss received the Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award, presented by the NCA, and the 2013 CLAS Outstanding Faculty Achievement award.

Dr. Lisa Keränen became the President of the Association for the Rhetoric of Science and Technology (ARST).

Dr. Yvette Bueno-Olson received a 2013 CLAS Teaching Excellence Award.


Dr. Brenda J. Allen presented the 2011 Carroll C. Arnold Distinguished Lecture at the annual meeting of the National Communication Association and was promoted to Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion.

Dr. Larry Erbert was appointed the new director of UCD’s Sustainability minor.

Dr. Stephen John Hartnett received a 2012 CLAS Research Excellence Award and the 2012 Distinguished Teacher Award from the Western States Communication Association.

Dr. Lisa Keränen received a 2012 CLAS TeachingExcellence Award and assumed the Vice-Presidency of the Association for the Rhetoric of Science and Technology.

Suzanne Stromberg received the inaugural 2012 Internships and Social Engagement Award from the Office of Experiential Learning.


Dr. Brenda J. Allen received UCD’s inaugural Award for Outstanding Faculty Mentoring, and Ohio University’s Paul Boase Prize for Scholarship.

Dr. Sonja Foss received the Distinguished Scholar Award from the Western States Communication Association for 2011.

Dr. Stephen John Hartnett received a 2011 Prevention for a Safer Society (PASS) Award from the National Council on Crime and Delinquency and the 2011 Golden Monograph Award from the National Communication Association.

Dr. Lisa Keränen received the National Communication Association Public Address Division’s 2011 Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Public Address.